All Posts By

Elizabeth

King Richard’s Bones

By | Aston, Novellas | No Comments

king-richards-bones-200x300A brief but true account of how the late King Richard III returned to his earthly realm in ghostly form to reclaim his bones for proper burial.

“Here we go again,” said the Controller. “Of all our charges, you have to let Richard III escape. Again. Every time he goes back to Earth he causes trouble and with the recent news, the Directorate of Unruly Spirits should have been on high alert.” Read More

Valentine’s Day

By | Aston, Novellas | No Comments

valentine's-dayA witty, charming and sparkling romance set in Regency England.

The year is 1800, and Valentine Welburn, an heiress with a mind of her own, arrives from India to stay with her sardonic godfather, Lord Mountjoy, and enjoy her first London season.

Two men come into her life: the rich and amused Lord Marbeck and dashing Sir Richard Read More

The Darcy Connection

By | Aston, Darcy | No Comments

darcyconnection2The next adventure of the Darcy family from the author of Mr. Darcy’s Daughters, featuring the delightful romantic entanglements of Pride and Prejudice’s Mr. and Mrs. Collins’ two daughters.

In The Darcy Connection, Mr. Collins of Pride and Prejudice is now a bishop living at Longbourn with his wife Charlotte and their two daughters who have reached marriageable age. The elder, another Read More

The True Darcy Spirit

By | Aston, Darcy | No Comments

truedarcy1After being disowned by her family, Cassandra Darcy – the artistic eldest daughter of Anne de Bourgh (and grand-daughter of the infamous Lady Catherine de Bourgh and Mr. Darcy’s cousin in Pride & Prejudice) – strives to make a living by painting. But struggling to succeed in bohemian London turns out to be the least of her worries! To begin with, there are the unwelcome advances of a certain Lord Usborne, introduced to Cassandra by a high-class procuress. Then there are the letters bequeathed to her by a Read More

Voyage of Innocence

By | Edmondson | No Comments
Voyage-of-Innocence-200x300Youthful idealism. Great causes.
Greater evils.
Meet the Oxford Spies.

Oxford, 1932. Verity Trenchard, daughter of a rigid and old-fashioned English clergyman, begins her studies at Grace College, tasting the air of freedom after a cold and joyless childhood. Arriving with her are Lady Claudia Vere, her impulsive aristocratic cousin, and Read More

THE VILLA IN ITALY is a Kindle Monthly Deal, at an offer price of 99p.

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

villa-in-italyEscapist and completely absorbing, The Villa in Italy is the perfect, mouth-watering summer read.

Four very different people are named in a will. All are summoned to the Villa Dante, home of the late Beatrice Malaspina. But who was she?

While they wait to find out, the villa begins to work its seductive magic. With its faded frescoes and magnificent mediaeval tower, it’s unlike anywhere they have been before. Slowly, four characters who have gone to great lengths to hide their troubles find that change – and even hope – is possible after all. But the mysterious Beatrice has a devastating secret to reveal that will change everything . . .

The perfect holiday read for fans of Rosanna Ley and Rachel Hore, The Villa in Italy is a beautiful evocation of Italy in the aftermath of World War Two.

Available from Amazon  BUY NOW

GENRE FICTION IS NO DIFFERENT TO LITERARY FICTION

By | Blog | No Comments
book-genreOxford Literary Festival, 29 March 2014

Elizabeth Edmondson, supporting the motion.

To begin with, I dislike both these terms. Genre fiction is a nasty neologism – when did genre turn into an adjective?

I object to the term literary fiction for a different reason. It’s weasel-wording, in that it conflates lit fic with literature. It was clever, clever marketing by publishers and academics to set certain contemporary fiction apart and declare it Literature – and therefore Important, Art and somehow better than other writing. Read More